27082013

Bacon aglio olio with seared salmon

Bacon aglio olio with seared salmon

大家好! Doesn’t the salmon + bacon aglio olio above look so sumptuous? In actual fact, they… really were. ONOMNOM lika monster. Hahaha. @annabelleleong and I have been heating things up in our kitchen recently. Whether is it just cooking a simple lunch for us, or preparing dinner for our family, our final products have been pretty good I would say. I think my sister deserves a standing ovation. For someone who sits around all day waiting for dinner to magically appear, she has definitely put in the effort and improved leaps and bounds.

Anw, @plastikkbarbie, @mypinkpony, @seasidesirens  and I finally realized our empty talks of visiting The Sushi Bar @ FEP last Tuesday. After weeks of procrastinations, we were finally there. Ok, it wasn’t really our fault in dragging because the shop was closed for some renovation works the day we wanted to visit them, about 3 weeks ago? What are the coincidences… The day we wanted to go, i texted them to make reservations only to not receive any confirmation. And just 3 hours before we were supposed to meet, I googled their FB page and realized they were closed for renovations that day, hahaha. Quite a blessing actually. At least we did not make any futile trip.

Anw, let’s move on to the food. Let me just make this clear first ok. How i genuinely felt about the food is all my personal opinions. So don’t come slamming me if they don’t suit your palate aye (pun intended), hahaha.

Chawanmushi

Chawanmushi

First up, the Chawanmushi. The steam egg had a really smooth texture that was easy to eat. Taste wise was delicious, but nothing fantastic. The 4 of us agreed that the one at Hifumi was much nicer though – which is part of the free-flow salad bar, so what’s not to love about it, hahaahha.

Scallop Mentaiyaki

Scallop Mentaiyaki

Next up, the scallop Mentaiyaki. Wow, i really loved this. Whether is it the taste or the texture, everything was just beautifully put together. However, $13.90 for this small plate might be a little pricey do you think. Oh well, scallops dont’ come cheap, do they. But for that price, I’d be better of having something more filling.

Ebi Fry salmon Aburi Sushi roll

Ebi Fry salmon Aburi Sushi roll

Now now, the main dish that we visited the Sushi bar for – Their Ebi fry salmon aburi sushi roll ($16.90). Before i took a bite into it, I was expecting an array of taste and texture to explode in my mouth just like its other counterpart, the delicious Shiok Maki @ Koh Grill and Sushi Bar, which everyone tends to compare with. However, i was utterly disappointed when the sushi roll tasted only slightly better than a normal california roll. Maybe i’m being biased because i’m one who prefers a thick sauce complementing the maki just like the Shiok maki. So, this did not satisfy me at all. Either that or I went there with exceptionally high expectations and you know how the higher the expectations the higher the disappointment? Yup. I would totally choose Shiok Maki over this ANYTIME.

Sirloin Steak (100g)

Sirloin Steak (100g)

Now the Sirloin Steak ($14.90 for 100grams). This was definitely the star of the night. We all agreed this was the best and definitely value for money. The beef was grilled perfectly, leaving the middle slightly raw… just the way i like it. This is probably the only dish that I would return to The Sushi Bar for!

Chicken Katsu Don

Chicken Katsu Don

Lastly, the Chicken Katsu Don ($9.90). We were expecting something more appealing and fancy, but all we got was this. In my opinion, nothing WOW about it. For that price, I could get a bowl of Katsu don (of that standard) with a side dish at a normal foodcourt…

To sum it up in 1 word, disappointing. Really. For that price (which came up to about $15 each for the 4 of us), we could have a more satisfying and filling dinner somewhere else. We were actually not full from all that we ordered that we had to look for something else to satisfy our hunger after that. Can you believe we had ban mian after this meal?? And not to mention a bowl of filling and delicious ban mian costs $4 only… Hahahahaha.

As for Wednesday, I finally met up with @kittykatparade… after 10 months or so. Mygosh. I’m glad we’ve cleared the air, said what we had to say, and things are starting to crawl back to normal. It’s actually amazing how we can still trust each other WHOLEHEARTEDLY despite all the numerous quarrels we had. Lol. Destiny and God sent, I’d say? Unbreakable bond. Somehow I have this feeling that we’ll have each other’s back till eternity.

Anw, @kittykatparade treated me (Thank you my dear!) to some awesome Jap food (lol, again) which was really as good as she said. I ordered a bento set with soba and sushi. Ahhhh jap food, my love. As usual, I lied to her that i’ll be late and stuff, but actually I was busy putting the her birthday cake with the restaurant. I still remember her texting me to push back our meeting time because she had some errands to run. I then replied her OK because i wanted to sleep in. But in actual fact, I was up early baking her birthday cake for her. It was a delectable moist chocolate cake. My gosh. Everyone who had it said it was gooooooood! Yay!

@kittykatparade's handrolls

@kittykatparade’s handrolls

Happy Bleated 22nd Birthday!

Happy Belated 22nd Birthday!

IMG_1503Here’s Jo blowing out her candles. I’m so glad my cake was a success. Can’t believe i volunteered to make a no-bake cheesecake on her 19th, and the cake did not set in the end. What a downright failure. It was so embarrassing when the restaurant person came up to me and said my cake was watery. HAHAHAHAHAH. HOMYGOSH. A watery cake. Probably the first time you’ve heard something like that right? On the bright side, I can see how my baking skills have improved tremendously since then! Whoooo!

Delicious Knoopers

Delicious Knoopers

Delicious Knoopers that @kittykatparade got me from Germany! She said it was better than Hanuta and boy was she right. One other reason why i love it is because it makes me feel exclusive as they do not sell it in Singapore. Hahahahaha.

IMG_1526

My bento set!

IMG_1536And this was dinner prepared by @annabelleleong for our entire family on Wednesday. She single-handedly did everything. From the salmon, to the spaghetti, to grilling the yakitori. Bravo sis, B R A V O. This pre-packed yakitori’s really delicious by the way. Tender chicken thigh with tasty marinade. Thumbs up!

On Thursday, @jamdavidtojam, @annabelleleong, @seasidesirenss, @plastikkbarbie and I met up for lunch at Ikea! Our initial plan was to have a quick bite (the hotdog) at ikea, then proceed to Giant to get our cookout ingredients, before heading to Sauyan’s house to prepare our meal. But we were all famished that we gave in to temptation and settled for a full and satisfying meal at Ikea. We all thought the standard of the food went down though… The chicken wings were not as tasty anymore. But still nice, nonetheless!

ikea lunch

ikea lunch

with my favourite ij girls!

with my favourite ij girls!

IMG_1616

Cookout at @plastikkbarbie's!

Cookout at @plastikkbarbie’s!

Yay! Our 10 course meal that we took 2hours to cook from scratch! Loved Yu’s Shepherd’s pie man. Easy, basic ingredients, but so delectable. And guess what… The huge bowl in the middle was twin’s garlic butter mussels with white wine. OHBOY. The sauce was sooooooo good a few of them dipped their burger buns into it. Definitely 5 stars for her first time making it. And of course we’re not such big gluttons to cook so much for 5 pax. @shyan and Stefan joined us for dinner too!

Super moist chocolate cake with fudge topping

Super moist chocolate cake with fudge topping

The remains of the moist chocolate cake i baked for Jo! They were so tempting i had no choice but to cut a slice to savour them last week.

with some of the girls at Oli's 22nd!

with some of the girls at Oli’s 22nd!

Steak + ribs night for the Leongs

Steak + ribs night for the Leongs

And this was the western meal twin and i prepared for our family last night. Together with some grilled ribs + corn soup. My my. What a hearty meal. All the calories… But can’t compare to the amount of time, love, and effort we put into it. Hahaha. So glad my parents enjoyed the steak.

Wow, this food post is making me really hungry now. Maybe I should get a bite since I only had a slice of bread the entire morning. And then it’s preparing dinner for the family again. Yayyyyy! Have a blessed week, everyone!

Leave a Reply

