Overdue

Hi guys! I’m finally back AND *drum roll please* ALL DONE WITH EXAMS! Whoooooooo! *sweeps the excess exam dust off my shoulders* hahahahahaha. Honestly, i don’t feel any sense of liberation or whatever now that exams have ended. Except that i see myself having slightly more time and doing things with ease without worrying about rushing home to mugg.

The photos that i’ve taken over the past 2 weeks are all in a mess. Actually they’re all from my iPhone because i don’t carry my camera around with me nowadays. Exams has made me so used to just lugging files of notes and a pencil case around. BUT I will try to bring my camera out more often now that my days are filled with activities.

Oh yes, pardon me for this post because most of the photos are from my instagram. That’s probably the only place where i update so religiously of my daily happenings and #OOTDs.

IMG_6849

This was my outfit that i wore to Shyan’s Birthday dinner with my MCC at Ion’s Paradise Dynasty. My initial plan was to wear a white romper which i absolutely loved, but my itchy fingers stained it before i could step out of the house. Thank God for bleaching. Anw, having been a fan of Paradise Inn and Canton Paradise, i knew Paradise Dynasty at Ion would not fail me. And as expected, it didn’t! In my opinion, it’s one of the better and relatively affordable restaurant in Ion. For instance, a bowl of la mian costs between $8.90 – $11.80, which is extremely reasonable for a restaurant situated in Ion.

I didn’t capture any picture of these 3 eggs jelly cold dish appetizer thing that we had, but it was sooooo good. I am such a fan of eggs. Chicken egg, duck egg, century egg, salted egg… Ahhh. Except for hard boiled eggs. Can’t seem to favour the texture of it. And we had the xiao long baos too which were really gooooood. I loved them because their skins were thin and their broth were tasty! Thick skinned xiao long baos will NEVER ever be accepted by me. Yucks.

And MCC being MCC, our nights are never over till 3ish, 4, so we headed to @plastikkbarbie’s place for some drinks and Laduree Macarons (their rose flavored ones will always be my favvv) that we bought in place of a birthday cake for @xshyan!

IMG_6877

There we go! Our “mini picnic-ish” high tea at @plastikkbarbie’s place that night. THE EXTRA MILE WE TAKE JUST FOR A PRETTY INSTAGRAM PICTURE! We actually fixed the cupcake stand and pulled down @plastikkbarbie’s comforter for a nice background, hahahahah.

IMG_6879

We bought Shyan the pair of Toms that she wanted. Suits her rly well!

As for last week, my family headed to Katong / Joo chiat to explore around and to just spend time as a family because my sister’s exams ended! (Btw, i really love that area beacause of the amount of local food that you can kind. Katong laksa, Kueh Kueh, Nonya food, YTF… ah, i’m drooling) We found a new eatery along the lane opposite Awfully Chocolate which was called Sinpopo. Apparently Sinpopo was a famous club in the 1980s and the eatery was working around the concept of a 1980s coffeehouse feel. We asked one of the staff working there and found out that Sinpopo is part of the Awfully Chocolate family.

IMG_6975

IMG_6979

IMG_6974

IMG_6983

Steamed bread

Steamed bread

Fried You Tiao with Shrimp Paste dip! i love them so much!

Fried You Tiao with Shrimp Paste dip! i love them so much!

IMG_6988

Their menu

Their menu

IMG_6985

IMG_6984

IMG_6983

IMG_6982

So old school!

So old school!

While the food at Sinpopo was just average, it was a nice place to past our afternoon that day. Service was good, and you just can’t find some of the food on their menu so easily anymore. Loved the concept. And it was a great place for a conversation starter. You have no idea how my parents went on and on about Sinpopo and the past, hahah. It was a joy to hear them talk about the past and reminiscence the good old time though!

On Sunday evening, we headed to The Grandstand at Turf City for my aunt’s birthday dinner at Owen Seafood. We had a bit of time before that so we explored PasarBella. Right now, i am just dying to make a visit there again. This time not just to explore, but to at least try some of the food being sold over there.

And again, my #ootd… hahahaha. This is getting addictive.

#ootd for aunt's bday dinner

#ootd for aunt’s bday dinner

Absolutely love this crochet dress!

Absolutely love this crochet dress!

Headed to Swensen’s @ Thomson after that (as usual) for our usual Swensen’s fries, ice cream and banana crumble! (Can NEVER get sick of it). Wonder what’s their recipe…

W/ my cousin, Sean

W/ my cousin, Sean

Gorgeous strawberry shortcake that @seasidsirens baked!

Gorgeous strawberry shortcake that @seasidsirens baked!

And i finally met up with my JC clique + Paolo on Tuesday! Caught The Great Gatsby with Shalini before meeting the rest. In my opinion, the movie was reallly good albeit it was 2 hours long. I love the graphics and the way they illustrated the towns, Gatsby’s mansion, and the grotesque Valley of Ashes. It was really an illustration of the movie. I know how people always say the book is better than the movie and yada yada, but i thought for TGG, the movie did the book proud! In the sense that most elements and objects that were not the focal point in most of the scenes were designed well enough such that the objects and people delivered the significance that they were supposed to. Good movie!

We  had dinner at some HK Causeway bay restaurant at Centerpoint before moving over to Cold Stone Creamery at OC for some girls catchup! It was my first time trying Cold Stone. We had the birthday cake which, the flavour, i really liked (though i found it a tad too sweet for my tastebuds). Sherrie and Chris ended up daring each other to catch the icecream (never knew they had such things at Coldstone!) and Chris lost the 3 rounds of scissors papper stone so she had to go for it. Hahahahaha. Thank God her badminton skills saved her. Or else she would have been drenched in ice cream… would have been quite a sight though. Lol.

Chris attempting to catch the icecream!

Chris attempting to catch the icecream!

#Gotcha (hehe, pun intended)

#Gotcha (hehe, pun intended)

with my fav JC clique!

with my fav JC clique!

IMG_7247

A Pic to end off the day!

So yes, that was pretty much some of the things i’ve done since exams ended. Can’t wait for Thursday where Sherrie’s bringing her Romeo over to my place! Hopefully Richie will accept Romeo and not be easily jealous… then we can take Romeo in for 6 months when Sherrie goes for exchange!

Alright, gotta prepare for dinner right now before heading to church for the 2Days NYC facils retreat! Gosh… NYC in uh less than 2 weeks time???????? Uh-oh. Have a great weekend everyone! Will be back for more updates soon now that exams are OOooOooOOOOOover ^^v!

Leave a Reply

