NYE

It’s not me to always express my thoughts into words, or bring them onto a public platform like my WordPress. My thoughts are always just fragmented images pieced together without any A, Bs or Cs. And most of the time, they are pretty much incomprehensible to the average human being. It is slightly empowering on my side (i feel), as no one but I (Ok, with the exception of God too) have the knowledge of what plays around in my head.

Just last night / this morning, i had a short but beautiful chat over Whatsapp with a close friend of mine, Gen, whom @mypinkpony and I have already unofficially adopted as our little sister. Talking to her made me feel a lot better because i know that I am not alone, in this. 2012 (and probably the start of 2013) has proved to be slightly unfavorable; i had my fair share of unhappiness towards the end. Yes, fair. Fair because i believe it always takes two hands to clap. I lost the people whom i never once would have thought to lose, i drifted away from some, some just chose not to stay, and some, they just disengage all of a sudden. It is pretty frightening to think about it and to acknowledge it. And as far as i try to tell myself “This will get better”, i am almost certain it won’t. Oh well, I guess like what Father Erbin shared with me before, John 12:24 unless a grain of wheat falls into the earth and dies, it remains alone; but if it dies, it bears much fruit. And that’s the reason why i’m hopeful for something much better, despite all that has happened, as long as i put my entire trust in God.

I love how happy we look in this photo!

I love how happy we look in this photo!

Growing close to Gen and meeting this whole batch during NYC was probably one of the focal point of 2012. Looking at this, even just superficially, I am able to see God’s blessing translating through the wonderful friendship that i’ve forged. I know i’ve mentioned this not long ago on this same space, but i just had to re-emphasize it. The new quality friendships that God has blessed me with has far exceeded the quantity of friends that i’ve lost, or drifted from.

And last but not least, the posting of Fr. Erbin to our parish was truly God sent. There’s just something about him and the youths that i can never put a word to it, in a remarkably good way of course! Such an ordinary priest who is so willing to humble himself down, for the sake of the church and the youths, is definitely something that not one can find everywhere today.

Alright, i will just leave you with some (quite little in fact) of the photos from our NYE countdown at church. Have a blessed week ahead, everyone!

Celebrated Enrica's mum's bday at their restaurant before heading down to church that night.

Celebrated Enrica’s mum’s bday at their restaurant before heading down to church that night.

Mom and the korean priest

Mom and the korean priest

IMG_0688 IMG_0692

Gangnam style performance by the korean community. The lead girl dancer was soooooo good.

Gangnam style performance by the korean community. The lead girl dancer was soooooo good.

IMG_0698

Fr Erbin dancing, hahahah.

Fr Erbin dancing, hahahah.

IMG_0702

Twin + Gen!

Twin + Gen!

IMG_0708 IMG_0716

Leave a Reply

